Home » All Things Vintage » The Great Gatsby: Book or Movie? Why not Both?

The Great Gatsby: Book or Movie? Why not Both?

The cover of the first edition of The Great Ga...

The cover of the first edition of The Great Gatsby (1925) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Well, today I went to see The Great Gatsby 3D movie. I must admit I was skeptical, as I’d heard mixed reviews, and anything billed “as interpreted by [Baz Luhrman]” makes me suspicious.

Right now I’m reading the book and loving it…the beautiful, lyrical descriptions of nature, and the unexpectedness of certain scenes, e.g. when Tom Buchanan suddenly breaks Mrs. Wilson’s nose. If you haven’t read the book (I’m almost ashamed to admit I hadn’t), you’re in for a real treat.

Now, back to the movie…
Please note that this is my own opinion. I promised myself not to be biased because of the reviews I’d read. My husband and I went to see it this afternoon, and surprise, surprise, he really enjoyed it. As did I, which just goes to show you, I was right when I decided to make up my own mind.

As you’d expect, it was a spectacular extravaganza, particularly the party scenes. What I didn’t expect was that it stayed true to the book. Tobey Maguire, as Nick Carraway, proved to be the perfect bystander narrator.

I really liked Leonardo DiCaprio as Gatsby, the mysterious but ultimately vulnerable man. Tom Buchanan is played particularly well by Joel Edgerton (he has the most burning blue eyes), as an arrogant, mean bully boy. And, Daisy…well, Daisy is very much a shallow, pretty face, although charmingly played by Carey Mulligan.

If you haven’t read the book or seen the film, I won’t spoil it for you. Suffice it to say that Gatsby comes off as the good guy in the end, maybe even great, as the title says. I would certainly recommend this movie to anyone who loves a good love story and the 1920’s era.

Gatsby2

Tobey Maguire and Leonardo DiCaprio in the yellow roadster

Tobey Maguire and Leonardo DiCaprio in the yellow roadster

Leonardo Di Caprio as Gatsby and Carey Mulligan as Daisy.

Leonardo Di Caprio as Gatsby and Carey Mulligan as Daisy.

Leave a Reply

