Home » Recipes » Pasta » Cathy’s Lasagne

Cathy’s Lasagne

My husband never tires of my lasagne and continually asks me to make it for him. I think it’s his most favourite of all my recipes. So today, I’m ready to share it with you. Let’s get started!

Lasagne_-_stonesoup[1]

Serves 4 people

l lb. lean ground hamburger
1 small onion, chopped
Green pepper, seeded & chopped (optional)
2 cloves garlic, peeled & minced
2 c. (or more) Spaghetti sauce (I use President’s Choice, available in Canada, or Prego will do)

8 lasagne noodles
Mozzarella cheese (I use lotsa mozza)

Make sauce:
Brown hamburger in large frying pan. There should be enough fat in the pan from the hamburger.  If not, add olive oil.
Add onions & garlic; cook until translucent.
Add spaghetti sauce and simmer for 1 – 1 1/2 hours. Let cool.

Lasagne:
Add enough water to cover lasagne & boil. Follow package instructions for how long to boil the noodles (usually 9 minutes).
When noodles are done, pour into colander to drain. Immediately run cold water over the noodles to stop them cooking, & make them cool enough to handle.

While the noodles are cooking, I grate the cheese & add a thin layer of sauce to the bottom of a baking dish to get a head start. I also turn on the oven to 375 F.

Assemble:
In the baking dish, over the layer of sauce, make layers of noodles, sauce & cheese. I usually do only two layers, but you can do up to four if you’re up for it. End with a thick layer of cheese.

Bake:
Place the lasagne dish, covered with foil wrap,  in the oven for 15 minutes. Then take foil wrap off & bake another 15 – 20 minutes.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

